The Grand Hotel San Pellegrino Terme
Built on the left bank of the river Brembo, opposite the Municipal Casino, The Grand Hotel was opened in the summer of 1904. For its size and style monumental, represents the best example of architecture of San Pellegrino Terme. Designed by architect Romolo Squadrelli in collaboration with the engineer Luigi Mazzocchi was one of the largest hotels in Europe 800 that refers to the ancient French castles.
The Grand Hotel is a huge seven-storey building and 250 rooms, the furnishings were so lavish as to arouse wonder even among the aristocrats customers. La facciata, lunga ben 128 meters, presents a unique decorative richness: dozens of statues, cariatidi, elementi zoomorfi, Jumper, festoni, contribute to the creation of an atmosphere strongly suggestive. Inside, the rooms are distributed in a symmetrical way, the hall and the staircase in the center, residence halls and dining at the sides. Due to the high cost of management that the hotel would require monumental to maintain and adapt the systems to the new requirements, in 1979 is permanently closed.
The Grand Hotel has hosted celebrities whose names were written in the 'Guestbook'. The Register is kept at the Library of San Pellegrino Terme, brings big names such as those of Queen Margherita of Savoy in July 1905, of Queen Elena with her children Prince Umberto and Princess Maria in August 1929, the composer Pietro Mascagni, the generale Luigi Cadorna, of the Nobel Prize Eugenio Montale and Salvatore Quasimodo, of the noble family of the Tsar of Russia, diplomats and family members of King Farouk of Egypt, Federico Fellini and Giulietta Masina and to finish in the sixties with those of the 'Grande Inter' Herrera.
Today, After several decades of neglect, public and private institutions are still looking for a solution that will ensure recovery of the prestigious building, symbol of the best moments of the spa town and valuable historical record as well as an aesthetic artistic taste then in vogue.